Once Upon a time…

The book is going to start where I first started it, in 2006. Nine years ago. I’ve looked at the first chapter so many times I have it memorized. It’s etched in stone. So even though there are sentences that don’t work, and I haven’t quite captured the feelings or mood I want, I’ve been mystified about how to change it/them.

Until today.

Today my free first page critique arrived from Becca Puglisi at

http://writershelpingwriters.net

I’ve never entered any kind of on-line contest, much less won one, so I was thrilled to be chosen for the July edition of  Critiques 4 U.

http://writershelpingwriters.net/2015/07/critiques-4-u-july-edition/

This blog is an excellent source of ideas, inspiration, and writing advice. They (Becca Puglisi and Angela Ackerman) have also published three very useful reference books:

The Emotion Thesaurus: A Writer’s Guide to Character Expression

The Positive Trait Thesaurus: A Writer’s Guide to Character Attributes

The Negative Trait Thesaurus: A Writer’s Guide to Character Flaws

These can be found at http://writershelpingwriters.net/bookstore/

But before I do any more work on refining the characters, I will have to kill a few darlings on the first page.

Thank you Becca, for giving me the courage to wield the delete key!

About Cathy Smallwood

Writer
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

